Skip to content

ministry reading

19 August, 2009

Books.jpgI spent a lonely Tuesday in the batcave reading. Fortunately for the pig, Sien-Ven stopped off to check on him and took some photos for evidence. I’ll get you next week pig . . .

Today’s reading was on university ministry. I read a lot, much of it theological, but I’ve only read one book specifically on university ministry since I returned to it in the Spring of ’08. I’m glad I spent part of the day looking for more, because my efforts were rewarded with thinking on certain assumptions and practices I haven’t evaluated in awhile, especially concerning the purpose and mission of what we do, and the relationship between church and parachurch. Here’s the good stuff:

  • Canadian John Stackhouse’s Engaging the University is a great write up of a lecture he gave to university ministers. It appears to be widely referenced. Strongly theological and ideological, this is the place to start.
  • Stephen Lutz’ The Need for Missional Campus Ministry makes a good argument for why what we do at the U matters. He’s got some other articles on his resource page that I might peruse later.
  • Jesus Creed has some good stuff, starting last year and picking up again this year (seems to be a fall tradition around there). Education, Discipleship and the Future part 1, part 2, and part 3 kicked things off last year, and this year picks up with Missional Campus Ministry part 1 and part 2.
  • Benson Hines’ The Surprisingly Unmissional Approach to College Ministry reinforces why we need campus based ministry, and why it’s not the same as getting students to come to a church. I’ve downloaded his lovingly crafted ebook, Reaching the Campus Tribes, and will post some thoughts when I actually get around to reading it.

If there’s something I need to read that’s not on the list, please leave me a comment and let me know.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 19 August, 2009 7:24 am

    I don’t know for sure, but I think that you are the only person I’ve met that regularly uses the word “ecclesiology” as a tag for a post…

    Great insight though – I’m gonna start Benson Hine’s book today sometime. I guess he came to Colorado once, though he missed all the cool people.

    • 19 August, 2009 5:48 pm

      That’s my way of attracting readers who don’t think words like monosyllabic are too long, and then quit reading.

  2. 19 August, 2009 5:29 pm

    Thanks for the shout out Nick, and glad you’re engaging in this campus ministry conversation as well.
    Just curious, what was the one campus ministry book you read? There’s not too many out there…though a guy named Chuck Bomar just released “College Ministry 101” with Zondervan.

    I see you’re a Lewis fan. I’m re-reading Perelandra and still blown away by his visceral portrayal of Good and Evil.

    • 19 August, 2009 6:20 pm

      No prob. Thanks for the good material.

      After a couple of days looking, I can agree: there’s not much out there. Hooray for the blogosphere! Glad to be part of the conversation.

      The book was J. Budziszewski’s How to Stay Christian in College, which I’ve been meaning to review on here for months. It does what the title says, giving lots of advice (some of it really pretty good) on remaining a Christian, with absolutely none on being a Christian: that is to say, it is not a missional book. It’s the sort of book that a Christian student’s mom is more likely to want the student to read than her campus minister.

      I only half jokingly say that Lewis was one of my mentors. The guy who really did disciple me (my campus minister) introduced me to Lewis as I began both a life committed to following Jesus, and a BA in English Literature. Lewis helped with both. The sci-fi trilogy is great, though I’ve always thought the overt allegory of Perelandra makes it the weakest of the series. Regardless, it’s amazing how much of his theology he was able to get into his narratives.

Trackbacks

  1. ministry prep: gardeners and artists « symbiosis
  2. thank you for an amazing year of Reaching the Campus Tribes « Exploring College Ministry blog (daily notes about our field)

Leave a Reply

